

Michigan Supreme Court

State Court Administrative Office **Trial Court Services Division** Michigan Hall of Justice P.O. Box 30048 Lansing, Michigan 48909 Phone (517) 373-4835

Jennifer Warner Director

MEMORANDUM

DATE: February 1, 2018

TO: All Judges Court Administrators Probate Registers County Clerks

FROM: Kevin McKay, Jury Management Analyst

RE: Juror Mileage and Compensation Rate Increases Effective April 1, 2018

On June 15, 2017, Governor Rick Snyder signed Public Acts 51 and 52 of 2017, which amended MCL 600.1344 and 600.151e and increased the minimum rates that courts and funding units must pay jurors for mileage reimbursement and juror compensation, effective April 1, 2018.

Public Act 51 [MCL 600.1344] increased the minimum juror mileage reimbursement rate from \$.10 per mile to \$.20 per mile and also increased the minimum rates for juror compensation as follows:

- (i) For the first day or half day of actual attendance at the court, not less than \$30 per day and \$15 per half day.
- (ii) For each subsequent day or half day of actual attendance at the court, not less than \$45 per day and \$22.50 per half day.

Public Act 52 of 2017 amended MCL 600.151e and clarified how each funding unit will be reimbursed from the juror compensation reimbursement fund (JCRF) by adding language to subsection (7), which now reads as follows:

"Each court funding unit is entitled to receive reimbursement from the fund for the juror compensation expense amount reported under subsection (5) for the preceding 6 months, excluding any juror compensation in excess of the statutory minimum under section 1344 and excluding the first \$7.50 for half-day juror attendance rates, the first \$15.00 for full-day juror attendance rates, and the first 10 cents per mile reimbursement."

If courts and funding units are not currently compensating jurors and reimbursing juror mileage at or above the statutory minimum rates, then these increases must be put into effect by April 1, 2018. MCL 600.1344 still requires that any change in rates that trial courts compensate jurors or reimburse juror mileage be approved by county board of commissioners, so trial courts are encouraged to start the approval process for any changes as soon as possible so the statutory minimum rates can be implemented by April 1, 2018.

Beginning April 1, 2018, the state will reimburse the funding units the 10 cents per mile increase, but only if courts reimburse jurors mileage at or above the new statutory minimum of 20 cents per mile and report it properly. Therefore, if trial courts and funding units previously never reported the mileage to the state court administrator in their semiannual report because there was no reimbursement to the funding unit, it will be important for courts and funding units to begin reporting the miles.

If courts and funding units pay jurors in excess of these statutory minimum rates that go into effect April 1, 2018, they will not be reimbursed for that portion of the rates that exceed the statutory minimums.

If you have any questions, please contact me at <u>TrialCourtServices@courts.mi.gov</u> or 517-373-7913.